Lieberth Community Vision Award

Leadership Akron created the Lieberth Community Vision Award in November 2012, to honor the life and leadership of Dave Lieberth upon his retirement as Deputy Mayor and Chief of Staff of the City of Akron. A founder and life trustee of Leadership Akron, Lieberth has been known for bringing vision, pragmatism, and a relentless work ethic to his involvement in countless community causes.

The Lieberth Community Vision Award will be given each year to a leader who exemplifies the type of leadership that Dave has modeled and Leadership Akron seeks to foster, in consideration of the criteria below:

  • Community-centered leadership—The recipient will be known for putting aside individual agendas and looking at opportunities, challenges, and issues through the lens of the whole community.
  • Impact on Akron—The recipient’s leadership has shaped the Akron community in significant ways.
  • Multi-dimensionality—The recipient’s leadership has impacted multiple sectors in the Akron community, not just one specific area.
  • Involvement in Leadership Akron—The recipient has played a meaningful role in advancing the mission and work of Leadership Akron. S/he may or may not be an actual graduate of Leadership Akron.
  • Pragmatism/Hard Work—The recipient is known for his/her work ethic, willingness to go the extra mile, and problem-solving ability when advancing community. S/he does not hesitate to plunge into the sometimes unglamorous details to get the job done.

Over the past six years, we have had the honor of celebrating the leadership
of these individuals with the Lieberth Community Vision Award

Dave Lieberth, Life Trustee of Leadership Akron, "Celebrating the Art of Dave Lieberth"

Marie Covington, Covington Communications, "In the right hands, the seed of a dream can come to life"

Tim Fitzwater, "Leadership in Motion"

Brian Moore, Roetzel and Andress, "Leadership in Harmony"

Theresa Carter, OMNOVA Solutions Foundation, "Grace in Motion"

Laura Culp, Sikich, LLP, "A Story of Extraordinary Leadership"

Our 2017 Lieberth Community Vision Award Committee:

Danny Zampelli, Event Chair
Paul Catania*
Melvin Blake
Dirk Breiding
Heather Flohr
Leianne Neff Heppner
Kimberly Huff*
Jim Keesler*
Shelley Koch
Doug Kohl
Amanda Leffler*
Teresa LeGrair

Arica Leonard
Meghan MacDonald
Lisa Mansfield
James Merklin*
Heather Pollock
Mark Scheffler*
Brittany Schmoekel
Stephen Strayer
Pamela Wright
Christine Yuhasz
Laurie Zuckerman

*Sponsorships team member

We would like to thank the sponsors of the 2017 Lieberth Community Vision Award:




Akron Area YMCA
Akron Children’s Hospital
Roetzel & Andress, LPA
FirstEnergy Foundation
The Huntington Bank
The Knight Foundation
The Lehner Family Foundation


Cleveland Clinic Akron General
FedEx Custom Critical, Inc.
FirstEnergy Foundation
Oswald Companies
PNC Bank
Robert W. Baird & Company, Inc.
Signet Jewelers
The Maynard Family Foundation


Akron Community Foundation
Akron/Summit Convention & Visitors Bureau
Albrecht, Inc.
Apple Growth Partners
Buckingham, Doolittle & Burroughs, LLP
CliftonLarsonAllen, LLP
Meghan MacDonald Insurance
Ohio & Erie Canalway Coalition
S.A. Comunale Co., Inc.
Seibert-Keck Insurance Agency
S&T Bank
Stark State College Akron
Summa Health
United Way of Summit County
The Ruhlin Company
The University of Akron
Zuckerman Consulting CO.


AAA Akron Auto Club
Advanced Insurance Designs, Inc.
Akron Metropolitan Housing Authority
Akron Summit Community Action, Inc.
Akron Zoological Park
AxcessPointe Community Health Centers, Inc.
Karen Bozzelli & James Campbell
Boy Scouts of America/Great Trail Council
Bridgestone Invitational
Child Guidance & Family Solutions
J. Michael Kolk/Cohen & Company, LTD
Development Finance Authority of Summit County
First National Bank
G. Stephens, Inc.
Gavin Scott Salon
Hickory Harvest Foods
Doug & Kathy Kohl
Ross & Heather Licata
Landmark Plastic Corp.
John McKenzie
Angelina Milo
Oriana House
R. James Rollins
Prime AE Group
Roger Read
Reuther Mold Inc.
The Geopfert Company


ComDoc, Inc.
Tim Fitzwater Photography
Kate Schlademan, The Learned Owl
Dane Leasure, Rubber City Theatre
Zeber-Martell Gallery & Clay Studio

Support Leadership Akron Mark's LeaderLog LeaderLine Enewsletter

Lead Now

Akron's future depends on a sustainable and renewable source for leadership. This is the role and responsibility of Leadership Akron.

Learn More >

Connect With Us

Facebook YouTube News Feed

Contact Us

Leadership Akron
54 East Mill Street, Suite 201
Akron, Ohio 44308
330.436.5291 (phone)
330.436.5294 (fax)

Back to Top
Home Page LeaderSource Mobile